Geneva Conventions

The four Geneva Conventions, agreed by every country, set out how soldiers and civilians should be treated in war.

Helicopter and car with Red Cross sign on

The Geneva Conventions and their Additional Protocols form the basis of modern international humanitarian law, setting out how soldiers and civilians should be treated during war.

Although they were adopted in 1949, to take account of the experiences of the Second World War, the four Geneva Conventions continue to apply to armed conflicts today. Two Additional Protocols were adopted in 1977, which expanded the rules. Then a third Protocol was agreed in 2005, which recognised an additional emblem, the red crystal.

What are the four Geneva Conventions?

  1. Protects the sick, wounded, medical and religious personnel during conflict.
  2. Care for the wounded, sick and shipwrecked during war at sea.
  3. Treat prisoners of war with humanity.
  4. Protect all civilians, including those in occupied territory.

Read more about the four Geneva Conventions and their protocols.

What is international humanitarian law?

International humanitarian law (IHL), also known as the laws of war or the law of armed conflict, is a set of international laws that establish what can and can't be done in an armed conflict. The best known of these rules are found in the four Geneva Conventions of 1949, ratified by 196 countries.

The rules of war are universal. IHL protects all victims of armed conflicts, including civilians, and combatants who are injured, have been captured or have laid down their arms.

Learn more about international humanitarian law.


The Movement and international humanitarian law

Red Cross and Red Crescent organisations have a unique role under the Geneva Conventions.

As a neutral, impartial, and independent body, the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) can offer humanitarian protection and assistance during armed conflicts. Countries must allow the ICRC to visit prisoners of war. They also exchange family messages and help search for missing persons.

The British Red Cross supports this work by delivering family messages, and helping to provide medical aid and relief supplies when needed.

National Societies, such as the British Red Cross, also have a special role as voluntary aid societies. This includes providing additional help to the medical services of their country's armed forces.

Finally, the ICRC and National Societies have a role in promoting, implementing and developing IHL.

Want to learn more?  

If War Comes to You is an interactive film that brings the reality of armed conflict closer to home. Learn about the rules of war through an immersive experience to show the true impact of war. Take on the role of a soldier, local aid worker, or a civilian and navigate their daily dilemmas. Each choice has a consequence and impacts the story.

Go to the immersive experience.